Search our Calendar of Events

Find The Fun

Everything NYC
Be in the know with City Guide

Event Details

This event has already taken place. View the Latest Events

More Than a Feeling: Climate Emotions in Film & TV

Jan 27 | Thu |
Buy Tickets
View Website
Looking for things to do in NYC? Get our free email with 8 can't-miss city events every week Sign-up Here

Join NRDC's Rewrite the Future initiative at the 2022 Sundance Film Festival on January 27, 2022, at 11 a.m. PT / 12 p.m. MT / 1 p.m. CT / 2 p.m. ET for More Than a Feeling: Climate Emotions in Film & TV, a panel of Hollywood storytellers and mental health experts discussing how to represent climate emotions in entertainment to better reflect our lived responses to the crisis.

According to Grist, searches for “climate anxiety” increased 565 percent between October 2020 and October 2021. Meanwhile, a recent report from the Yale Program for Climate Communication found that an all-time record number of Americans—70 percent—are now very or somewhat worried about climate change. The crisis is being felt by communities across the globe, and this new reality is producing complicated emotions: anxiety, hope, grief, shame, anger, and numbness, to name a few.

Join us for a discussion about how climate emotions are starting to be reflected in pop culture and why we would benefit from more nuanced depictions on screen. We’ll explore how climate emotions can drive plots, motivate characters, help audiences process their own emotions about the climate crisis, and accelerate real world solutions.

Featuring panelists Scott Z. Burns (Extrapolations, An Inconvenient Truth), Naren Shankar (The Expanse) and Dr. Britt Wray (Generation Dread). Moderated by actor and climate activist Zazie Beetz (Atlanta). Presented in collaboration with: Good Energy Project, the Sundance Institute, Variety, Writer's Guild of America East and YEA! Impact.

Registration is required for this free virtual event. Reserve your tickets today!

When you sign up to attend this event, you'll be added to NRDC's Rewrite the Future mailing list. We will keep you informed of upcoming climate storytelling events and news. You can unsubscribe from emails at any time.

Featuring: Scott Z. Burns - Screenwriter; director; creator of forthcoming AppleTV+ climate series Extrapolations; producer of An Inconvenient Truth Naren Shankar - Executive producer/showrunner of critically acclaimed television adaptation of the novel series The Expanse Dr. Britt Wray - Author, postdoctoral fellow who investigates the mental health impacts of the climate crisis, especially on young people Moderated by: Zazie Beetz - Actor and climate activist

Venue: Online (Remote/Virtual Event)

Sundance Film Festival Map
555--55-5-5555