Search our Calendar of Events

Find The Fun

Everything NYC
Be in the know with City Guide

Event Details

This event has already taken place. View the Latest Events

American Symphony Orchestra: American Masters

Jun 05 | Sun |
Buy Tickets
View Website
Looking for things to do in NYC? Get our free email with 8 can't-miss city events every week Sign-up Here

The ASO offers another free performance to close its 60th anniversary season. In line with the ASO’s long history of championing American artists, the closing concert offers a trio of living American Pulitzer Prize-winning composers including Melinda Wagner and two of her mentors, Richard Wernick and Shulamit Ran. The program’s highlight is the world premiere of Roberto Sierra’s newly commissioned Concerto for Electric Violin, which presents a mixture of Sierra’s Latin-influenced ideas and modern compositional techniques through the voice of the electric violin, performed by the renowned electric violinist Tracy Silverman.

Philadelphia-born Melinda Wagner’s Concerto for Flute, Strings, and Percussion was distinguished for its well-crafted flute solo. Boston native Richard Wernick’s Viola Concerto—written for violist Walter Trampler and Leon Botstein (who conducted the 1987 premiere)—alludes to the well-known Dylan Thomas poem “Do not go gentle into that good night.” Shulamit Ran’s Symphony, commissioned by The Philadelphia Orchestra, also won the Kennedy Center Friedheim Award the same year as her 1991 Pulitzer.

This performance is being offered for free as a gift to the City of New York. Processing fees will apply. Conductor’s Notes Q&A begins before the concert at 7 pm.

Venue: Jazz at Lincoln Center’s Frederick P. Rose Hall

Broadway at 60th Street Map