Search our Calendar of Events

Find The Fun

Everything NYC
Be in the know with City Guide

Event Details

This event has already taken place. View the Latest Events

American Composers Orchestra: Welcome Back Family and Friends

Sep 28 | Tue |
Buy Tickets
View Website
Looking for things to do in NYC? Get our free email with 8 can't-miss city events every week Sign-up Here

American Composers Orchestra (ACO) opens its 2021-2022 season, under the leadership of Artistic Director Derek Bermel and President Melissa Ngan, on Tuesday, September 28, 2021 at 7pm with a Welcome Back Family and Friends Chamber Concert at DiMenna Center for Classical Music.

ACO musicians including violinist Karen Kim, cellist Eugene Moye, pianist Christopher Oldfather, flutist Laura Conwesser, clarinetist Liam Burke, and percussionist Javier Diaz will perform music by a broad array of composers, many of whom are close to the orchestra - including current and former ACO Board of Directors members Alvin Singleton, Augusta Gross, Melinda Wagner, Robert Beaser, and Jonathan Bailey Holland.

The program features the New York premieres of Augusta Gross's Towards Night, Karen Lefrak's Daybreak; When, and Jonathan Bailey Holland's Mobius. It also includes Steven Gerber's Five Greek Folksongs (after Ravel), Alvin Singleton's Argoru VIII, Melinda Wagner's Unsung Chordata, Edward Thomas's Reflections, and selections from Robert Beaser's Souvenirs.

"This concert is a chance for us to gather and share music by composers near and dear to ACO's past, present, and future," says Bermel. "Join ACO for this intimate chamber event and meet some of the composers, as we celebrate 45 years of music-making in New York by ACO's stellar musicians."

All audience members will be required to show proof of vaccination against COVID-19 with a vaccine authorized by the World Health Organization or the Food and Drug Administration and must maintain appropriate face coverings in accordance with current CDC guidelines.

Repertoire: STEVEN GERBER: Five Greek Folksongs (after Ravel) AUGUSTA GROSS: Towards Night (New York Premiere) ALVIN SINGLETON: Argoru VIII KAREN LEFRAK: Daybreak; When (New York Premiere) MELINDA WAGNER: Unsung Chordata EDWARD THOMAS: Reflections JONATHAN BAILEY HOLLAND: Mobius (New York Premiere) ROBERT BEASER: Selections from Souvenirs


Presented by American Composers Orchestra

Venue: DiMenna Center for Classical Music

450 W. 37th St. Map